D1 Mini how to get debug from computer?

• Hi, I'm new to not only D1 min but also whole ESP8266 thing so I'm sorry if I lack the knowledge of terminology.

I want to flash a custom firmware for esp12e, is it possible? I mean I know it's possible because I tried and it worked, but what I really want to know is if it may cause problems in the long term. I can also flash the build version for esp01, which is to me strange.

My real problem is how can i get debug info from my computer? From serial COM port? How do I write to it, Serial1.write or Serial.write?

The firmware I'm trying to modify has some debug functions but I couldn't really understood where it writes. (it uses Serial1.write)

I used Putty but there is only just an empty screen, I know it's the right com port because when I press reset button some gibberish characters show up. (I don't think something wrong with that I guess it's pretty usual)

Thanks in advance, I hope this product will be the one which ends my nightmare with my project.

• It's really hard to say anything without knowing what is the software that you are using. Is that Arduino? Nodemcu? MicroPython? Something else?

• It's something else. I inspected the code a bit more and saw that it uses Serial1.write(). I found something about Serial1 being TX only and uses GPIO02, though I couldn't figure out which port that name corresponds to on the board D1 mini.

I also couldn't figure out the model number of the module on D1 mini. Is it ESP01? ESP07? ESP12? My guess is ESP12 but I wanna be sure.

• @dodiyez

The table on the WeMos Product Page shows how the NodeMCU/WeMos pins (D1, D2, etc.) map to the Arduino GPIO pins (GPIO5, GPIO4, etc.)

They're the same for both the D1 Mini and the D1 Mini Pro.

• @Roo-ster

Thank you for the tip, I didn't notice it was written in that page. Do you know anything about the module on D1 Mini being the same as ESP12?

• @dodiyez said in D1 Mini how to get debug from computer?:

It's something else.